Back to School 17-Day Challenge

I got a brilliant idea last night.

As much as I’ve enjoyed summer ’14, there are still many things I had aimed to complete but haven’t yet gotten off my butt to do. During finals week in May, I remember purposing to spend more time with family and less time in front of my computer screen. I had wanted to try new things and spend a lot of time hanging out with God, not necessarily doing anything but just being with Him.

Being the lazy me, I’ve spent a little too much time entertaining myself on the web and watching an exorbitant number of movies. That’s not to say that I lay on my bed like a sloth the whole summer, although there were a few days when I really did absolutely nothing.

So to prevent myself from being a bum for the last seventeen days of summer, I’m going to challenge myself to abstain (hehe, what an awkward-sounding word) from visiting the internet, e-mail and this blog being the only exceptions. I will push myself to try new “summer-y” activities and practice a lot more piano. I’ll finally finish some reading I was supposed to complete a year ago and help out some more around the house. I will put down my devices and be present with my family and friends. But most importantly, I hope that this challenge will help me slow down and enjoy the here and the now.

This article excerpt from the blog oh dear drea sums it all up pretty nicely:

Don’t rush. Buy less. Do more…Enjoy the little moments. Set your table. Enjoy the process. Cook together. Enjoy the process. Sit together. Eat together. Talk together. Enjoy the process. Clean together. Enjoy the process.


Rules/Guidelines for the next seventeen days:

1. Limit e-mail and blogging time to 1.5 hours/day – max. I’ll use a stopwatch and record my daily time here.

2. Blog every day. 

3. Finish reading Worship: Rediscovering the Missing Jewel. This is the book Mommy wanted me to finish last summer. Whoops.

4. Make dinner for the family every night.

5. Do something new every day.

6. Run every day. Starting with 1 mile today, increase the distance I run each day by .5 miles. Once I reach 8 miles on August 13th, I will just run 1-milers until the 17th. I don’t want to be on crutches on the first day of school.

7. Stay out of my room between the hours of 9am -9pm. Daddy and Mommy used to say that our house was too big – they’re right. I’ve been shutting myself up in my room for the past two months and it’s become too easy to isolate myself from my family and not talk to them. Making sure that I’m never in my room gives me a much greater chance to be with my siblings and parents. Even taking a nap on living room sofa next to Daddy while he reads the news is “quality time” neither of us will get together during the school semester.

8. Take pictures of every single thing I eat and post it here. There’s a reason why I was born in the year of the pig; I eat like one [or could it be self-fulfilling prophecy?]. I stuff food in my mouth and swallow without taking the extra few seconds to enjoy and relish it. I think I started this bad habit when I worked at Starbucks – I learned how to inhale meals during my 10-minute work breaks. Snapping pictures of my food will force me to stop and enjoy the experience before I chow it down.

9. Do the family dishes every day. 

10. Work on my scrapbook and finish it by August 17th. 

11. Practice piano for 2 hours each day. 

12. Hang out with God every day for 1 hour. – this is going to be good.

13. Clean a different area of the house each day. 

14. Memorize the Sermon on the Mount [Matt. 5-7]. I promised myself to learn this passage by heart during RecWeek. Let’s get it done.

Are you excited? Cause I am.

-陳寶妍

One thought on “Back to School 17-Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

